Barbs and Backlashes


Odds and ends, July 21, 2010 by whitetips
July 21, 2010, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Fishing | Tags: ,

Spending some time out of the office, so this blog post has been prepared ahead of time.  I will try to have a fishing report or two when I get back.

In the meantime I have some odds and ends I thought I would share.

The first one comes from my buddy Teeg Stouffer of Recycled Fish, http://www.recycledfish.org/ .  Teeg had a podcast awhile back that included a new product that really caught my eye.  Watch it yourself, .

Yeah, yeah, I know, some new product for the fly-fishers, but if you watched the video you will see the product will be very useful for all anglers.  I can think of at least 3 or 4 spools of leader material floating around in my tackle bags right now and that Shark’s Tooth Leader Keeper looks like a fantastic product.  I did a quick search on the internet and found you can buy those keepers here, http://www.feather-craft.com/wecs.php?store=feacraft&action=display&target=GT005 .

Crayfish

A couple of weeks ago I had a post about crayfish, https://barbsandbacklashes.wordpress.com/2010/07/06/crayfish/ .  That post generated some interest and questions.  I said then that I was no crayfish biologist nor expert, but I have had to do a little (and I emphasize “little”) research into Nebraska crayfish.  Using some of the references in my earlier blog post, I put together a little summary of Nebraska crayfish for my own use.  I remembered I had that and I thought it might be of interest to some of you, so here is a very little bit more on Nebraska crayfish.

NebraskaCrayfish

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can say from first hand experience over the past several years I have watched the invasion of the Rusty Crayfish destroy 10’s of thousands of acres of habitat on Lake of the Woods. Just one more reminder to leave the hitch-hickers behind when we travel!!!

Comment by jeff starman

What kind of effect would a zebra mussel have on a flood control lake?? Has this been an issue in nebraska waters? Is there a way to control them???

Comment by Ray Cera

We do not know what effects zebra mussels would have in a Nebraska flood control reservoir, and we do not want to find out. To date there has been one Nebraska water body where zebra mussels have been found and they have been eliminated there. You can read about that here, https://barbsandbacklashes.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/some-updates/ .

There have only been two isolated, relatively small waters in the entire country where zebra mussels have been eliminated after they invaded those waters and one of those waters was in Nebraska. Other than that, there has not been anything that can be done once they become established.

Daryl B.

Comment by whitetips




Leave a Reply

