Barbs and Backlashes


Ponca by whitetips
March 15, 2010, 9:53 am
Filed under: Fishing

Just a quick update on one of the prettiest areas in the state:  I was at Ponca State Park a couple of weeks ago for some meetings.  I got to stay in one of the new “mini-lodges” there and let me tell you that was N-I-C-E!  Top-shelf!  If you get a chance to stay in one of those I will guarantee you will love it.  Here is more information on Ponca State Park,http://www.ngpc.state.ne.us/parks/guides/parksearch/showpark.asp?Area_No=143 .

We have a new pond at Ponca SP, it had some seepage and erosion problems a couple of years ago and had to be drained, but that has been taken care of and there is water back in the pond!  There is some fishing opportunity at Ponca SP on the Missouri River; I have caught some smallmouth bass and a variety of other species there, but I would not consider it to be easy fishing nor a great place to take the kids.  The new pond will provide a lot better opportunity for beginners.

The view from the mini-lodge where I stayed. You can see some more mini-lodges under construction and see that? That is water in the pond!

As you can see there has been a lot of snow and winter in northeast Nebraska this winter.  I drove down to the river before I left, I had to at least see the river, here is a panorama of what that looked like.

Spring is coming.  I am sure the view up there looks a lot different by now.  Cannot wait to catch some fish from that new pond!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

