Barbs and Backlashes


Last ice by whitetips
March 9, 2010, 4:31 pm
Filed under: Fishing | Tags:

I am still hearing mixed reports on ice conditions; yes, there are still some folks that are getting on the ice.  BUT, regardless of where you might be located in Nebraska the ice is on its way out if it is not already gone.

I hate to see it go.

Don’t get me wrong, I love open-water fishing too.  Next fall I will hate to see that come to an end.  I fished open-water until Dec. 1 last fall!  So, here we are at the end of this ice season and I wish it would last just a little longer.  I was on a pond yesterday, did not catch any fish, but at least there was still ice I could get on.  We had to hunt for a spot to get on the ice, and the top 4 inches or so was nothing but a wet, sloppy, slushy mess, but under that there was still 8-10 inches of ice and I am betting that ice is still going to last for awhile.  Late ice usually provides some of the best fishing of the year, and I will push it as far as I safely can.  BUT YOU HAVE TO BE VERY CAREFUL!!!!!!  If you venture out now make sure you test the ice conditions every step of the way.  I have an old ice chisel or spud bar and I use that religiously.  Be especially careful if you are around objects that can absorb heat from the sun (e.g. standing timber), and be careful around any areas where there has been runoff or running water.  All of the snow we had this winter has created a lot of runoff in the past few days and that has “eaten” up a lot of ice.  Wear a life jacket and ice picks around your neck, go with a buddy, do not take any chances.  You always have to be careful anytime you are on the ice, but that is especially true on late ice.

We all have spring fever and will be eager to cast our lines in liquid water when the ice is gone, but in my opinion early spring is one of the hardest times of the year to catch fish.  When the ice leaves we will still have cold water and schizophrenic weather conditions.  Fishing can be challenging under those conditions and the best way to get a bite will usually be fishing slow, putting something natural right on their noses and waiting for them to bite.  I can do that through a hole in the ice a lot easier than I can on open water.

Just one reason I wish it would last longer!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

come on Spring! that fish looked wonderful!

Comment by anita ball




Leave a Reply

