Barbs and Backlashes


Reservoir updates, part deux by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
February 10, 2010, 6:10 pm
Filed under: Fishing | Tags: ,

If I had known this was going to flare up today, I would have saved yesterday’s blog post until today.  There was a short story that ran in the Lincoln Journal Star today about the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers looking at some Lincoln and Omaha area reservoirs that needed some repairs, http://www.journalstar.com/news/local/article_560ae29a-1649-11df-8bcd-001cc4c03286.html .  At this point I have no idea what they are talking about and nobody around my office has even heard of this.  So, I do not know what is going on, I do not know if this is going to be a major issue or if there is just some new “classification system”.  For now I would say, “don’t panic” until we know exactly what the Corps of Engineers is talking about.

I will say this, when we do an Aquatic Habitat Rehabilitation project there is a whole host of red tape and bureaucracy that we have to jump through on a Corps of Engineers reservoir.  If the Corps wants to come back in now and drain reservoirs that we just had drained to do an Aquatic Habitat Rehabilitation project; a reservoir where the fishery is now booming, well, there are going to be a bunch of unhappy campers including me.

Stay tuned . . .

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Daryl,
Do you know of a place to monitor the temperature of Nebraska’s reservoirs and lakes? Once spring get’s going I try to get out and measure the water temperature often so I can plan my fishing weekends out, however it would be nice if there was some sort of automated system I could check, similar to the USGS stream flow gauge system.
Thanks!

Comment by Adam

Nope, no automated temperature readings of any Nebraska reservoirs or lakes that I know.

Water temperatures vary a lot on most bodies of water, especially large bodies of water, and especially during the spring. On a warm April afternoon you could have water temps. in the 60’s on a south-facing shoreline in a protected bay while the wind-swept main lake could still have water temps. in the 40’s. What would an automated temperature reading really tell you in an instance like that?

Warming water can make a huge difference in fishing success in early spring. You bet I pay attention to it, but I really do not care about the actual temperatures. What I am looking for would be areas where the water is more likely to be warmer. I will also try to hit warming trends when we have had a couple, three days of relatively stable, warming weather conditions. Other than that I am not concerned with actual water temps. and I try to GO FISH as often as possible!

Daryl B.

Comment by Daryl Bauer




Leave a Reply

