Barbs and Backlashes


Where I’ve been: 1/5/10 by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
January 5, 2010, 5:33 pm
Filed under: Fishing, Hunting | Tags: , , ,

I have been out of the office for an extended time; finally back today to dozens of e-mails.  Man, why did I come back to work?  To give you an idea of why I say that, let me give you a little report of where I have been and what I have been doing for the past few weeks.

Muzzleloader Deer Hunting

We took a long weekend to do some deer hunting.  My son had a muzzleloader permit.  We traveled up to Valentine to hunt with my cousin.  Daniel was holding out for a buck; he could have harvested several does but we just do not need the meat right now.  He also passed on a couple of small bucks.  We did see one big whitetail that he would have loved to shoot, but he was with several other deer and the snow was really crusty and crunchy and we could not make a move without scaring every deer within a half-mile radius.

I just about “bought the farm” while we were deer hunting.  We were still-hunting along a creek bottom when we could hear the sound of deer hooves pounding towards us.  About that time here comes a whitetail doe around the corner doing 65 in a 45 mph zone.  I was standing beside the trail she was on and here she comes right at me!!!!  About 10 feet away she finally figured out I was not a tree standing there and immediately she spins a 180 and runs off.  Behind her about 15 yards was a buck chasing her.  He never saw us.  It was not the big buck we had seen, but big enough that Daniel had the Encore to his shoulder.  Of course that buck never stopped and never presented Daniel with anything more than a straight-away running shot.  The deer was right on us and I am sure he could have hit him, but it was not a good shot and he did the right thing by not shooting.  So that was our best chance on our deer hunt, but we had a great time anyway.

Sunset in "God's Country" while hunting deer with the muzzleloader.

I was able to confirm the existence of the "devil-horned chupacabra" while we were deer hunting.

Did a little sight-seeing on the way home.

We Have Ice!

There is no doubt about it, we are going to have a nice ice-fishing season this year!  Ya-hoo!  I have fished on ice up to 12-14 inches in the past 3 weeks.  I will always tell you to be careful when venturing onto the ice, but for the most part we are good to go for the foreseeable future.

Slipped out to a pond and caught some of these.

My daughter caught the biggest one.

We are blessed in having much of our family living in Nebraska.  It is easy to travel a half day and spend time with them.  My folks got snowed-in with us in Lincoln over Christmas, and then after Christmas we traveled out west to spend some time with both my wife’s family and with my folks.

We did a lot of holiday celebrating while we were “out west”, you know all the family gatherings, feasting, game-playing, bowl-watching (how about them Huskers!) and other activities, but we managed to sneak in some ice-fishing while we were out there too.

Caught a bunch of nice bluegills from an interstate lake.

Spent a couple of days on a sandhill lake icing some of these beauties!

We kept a few perch one day, but everything else we have pulled through an ice-hole has been released.

So that is a quick, “photo-logue” of the past few weeks.  We tried some predator calling while we were out west too, but all I could do was get one coyote to sit on a hill 3/4 mile away and howl at us.  There are a couple of other stories to tell in all of the travels and adventures, but I will save them for later.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great pictures Daryl!

Easy to see why you and your family enjoy ice fishing.

Never heard of self-defense deer hunting.

Comment by Sandbilly

We do love the time spent together in our great Nebraska outdoors! Our hunting, fishing and trapping has been a family activity for as long as I can remember. I wish we could have stayed out west even longer and done some more fishing with my folks.

Still have to link up with you on the ice sometime too. It will happen.

Daryl B.

Comment by Daryl Bauer

Daryl, you need to learn to smile like your daughter does when you have a picture taken of you holding a fish!

Comment by Jason DeBoer

Jason,

You are not the first person to tell me that. Sorry. Seems like I always have some goofy look on my face instead of a big smile. I am just as happy to catch a nice fish as my daughter is, but sometimes I am trying to act like I have been there before.

Ha.

Daryl B.

Comment by Daryl Bauer

Just wanted to say, I’m a Massachusetts lifelong freshwater fisherman, who’s spent 35 of his 44 years on earth looking for all the best places to fish. My families from VT, and MA, and I’ve extensively fished NH, and hunted NY, and VT. I’ve always hated our northeast extended winters, and I’ve been a huskers fan since the 80’s (even growing up in a BC, doug flutie fan filled area). I spent an hour 2nite going thru ur stories, and, I’m looking to relocate within the next year, and your devotion, and love of Nebraska, have certainly tempted me to a state that still cares about the outdoors.
Thank you
Dave

Comment by Dave Saulters

Dave,

Right now, it is 11:00 a.m., the sun is shining, but the actual temperature is 0 degrees F and the windchill is somewhere around -20 degrees F. We had another 3 inches of snow yesterday, probably have around 2 feet on the ground right now, the wind is blowing out of the northwest 25-40 mph and the snow is blowing and drifting.

But . . .

Your comment just made this a beautiful day! Thank you very much!

If you are out this way and need more information about our great state, you know who to contact–just let me know, anytime. Those of us who call Nebraska home never forget “There is No Place like Nebraska” (and we get a little lump in our throats everytime the University of Nebraska marching band plays the tune).

Daryl B.

Comment by Daryl Bauer

Daryl Bauer is a gem and one-of-a-kind! He and I are great friends. I have the pleasure of working with him on an almost daily basis. What a fabulous ambassador for Nebraska he is!

“Wags” — Greg Wagner

Comment by Daryl Bauer

Great idea, thanks for this tip!

Comment by pengar




Leave a Reply

