Barbs and Backlashes


Weekend Update by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
November 23, 2009, 1:04 pm
Filed under: Fishing | Tags: ,

This is going to be a short week, but I want to get some short posts up here before the Thanksgiving holiday.

First of all, here is a little rundown on my weekend.  We have 3 oak trees in our yard and they produce an incredible amount of leaves.  So there was some of this over the weekend,

Just one of the piles of leaves. Actually this pile grew to the size of a Volkswagen before we mulched it down and bagged it.

My family did most of the leaf work this year.  I got in on just a little bit of it.  Thanks family!

And then the kids and I went to the Husker game Saturday night.

Yep, that’s me in the red & white coveralls!  I live and die Husker football, probably a little more passionately than I should sometimes (8 turnovers against Iowa State was more than I could stand!).  It sure was nice to see the Blackshirts send the kitty cats back to Kansas with their 3 points!  I was a little “horse” on Sunday!  “DEEE–FENCE”, “SUUUUUUUUUUUUUH”!

Oh, and no, I am not done fishing for the fall yet.

She took a neutrally-buoyant crankbait, fished S-L-OW, sitting still more than it was moving.  I am guessing she was right around 4 pounds.  Largemouth bass in 49 degree F water fight about like an old shoe, but anytime I scratch a fish this late in the fall it is great!  We do not have ice yet, so I am planning to do a little more open-water fishing before I give up this fall.  Stay tuned . . .

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice blog-entry Daryl… but aren’t they all! 🙂

Also, that’s a NICE cold-water bass!! It looks like you were wearing waders. Were you in a kayak, float-tube, or were you just “wading”?

GO HUSKERS!!!

Comment by Bob "the glove guy"

Just wading. I spend a lot of time in waders! I just do not feel like I am fishing unless I am wearing waders.

Daryl B.

Comment by Daryl Bauer




Leave a Reply

