Barbs and Backlashes


Some loose ends, literally by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
October 2, 2009, 10:27 am
Filed under: Fishing | Tags: , ,

I have no sponsors and I have no agenda to promote anybody’s products.  But, from time to time I would like to share some items and ideas that I have found very useful.  While I am out of the office, let me mention a couple.

First of all, if you have spent any time at all on any fishing waters I will bet you have seen discarded fishing line.  I know that sometimes lines get snagged and busted and things happen, but much of the line lying around our waters is nothing but TRASH!  Grrrrrr.  Why do people have to be bigger pigs than the pigs are themselves?  Much of that fishing line will not decay or deteriorate and it is a hazard for some other critter to become entangled.  I would hope we all do our best to pick up after ourselves and not leave “bird’s nests” of discarded fishing line.

The Nebraska Fish & Game Association is doing something about this by building and placing line recycling bins on public waters around the state.  Check out their program and location of the bins.  While you are at it, volunteer to help! http://www.nefga.org/web/recycling_bins.php .

Recently I was made aware of another product that will help in collecting our discarded lines for placement in a recycling bin.  It is called the Monomaster and is being made by a company that calls themselves Grasshopper Outdoor Products, http://grasshopperproducts.com/index.php .  You can wad up your old fishing line and stuff it in a pocket, but this product will make it a lot easier to store that “bird’s nest” until you get to the recycling bin.

6_mono_master_detail

Check out their website, they also have furled leaders for fly-fishing.

Do any of you fish waters where there are toothy predators, pike or muskies?  Do you ever fish those waters for other species like bass and walleyes where you do not need a wire leader, but you know what happens when you do not use the wire leader–a big pike or muskie shows up and eats that bass or walleye bait.  Then you are left praying your line does not break, but more often than not, “ping”, and that big pike or muskie is gone.  I hate losing those fish and I hate the thought of them swimming away with hooks in their mouth that they may not be able to shake.  I could have removed those hooks, but not if my line breaks.  So, I believe it is my responsibility to do everything I can to land those fish, but I hate to use wire leaders unless I am targeting pike and muskies.

I have used fluorocarbon leaders when I thought there might be a chance of a big toothy biting.  Fluorocarbon is more abrasion-resistant than monofilament and I have landed some nice pike and muskies using that as a leader.  But, recently I have broken some fish off and have been searching for something better.  I could go to even heavier fluorocarbon, but figured using 40-pound or heavier fluoro- probably was not much different than using wire.  Well, I have found a wire leader product that works great for that situation.  It is a wire leader that is supple and relatively invisible, relatively light and the best of all it can be tied directly to your fishing line–no need to use a heavy pre-tied leader.  I am using this stuff when fishing waters where pike or muskies are a possibility even if I am not fishing for those species.  It comes in a variety of sizes and colors and I do not worry about fish seeing it or about it inhibiting lure action.  I tie it onto my line as a leader using back-to-back Uni-Knots and then tie my bait unto the wire using a terminal Uni-Knot, no extra snaps or swivels.  If you buy some, make sure you get the “micro supreme” as that is the tieable steel leader material.

smsheader

GO FISH!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Leaving monofilament on the shore is like setting snares for wildlife. My son had to rescue a mallard from a tangle of line at the local park. Fortunately he had a sharp pocket knife along to cut the line as the duck fled his rescue attempt.

I would be willing to pick up a 55 gallon trash bag of litter for every littering ticket handed out by the NGPC. Cleanups without enforcement have been shown to be counterproductive, as litterbugs are led to believe that someone will always come along to clean up their mess.

Comment by Bowfin

Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

– Marc Shaw

Comment by Marc Shaw

[…] must use leaders to prevent break-offs; I mentioned several good options in a previous blog post, https://barbsandbacklashes.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/some-loose-ends-literally/.  Quick-strike rigs are a must in my opinion, so you can catch a big pike, take some photos and […]

Pingback by Some ice-out options « Barbs and Backlashes

[…] reminder, there are some leader options here . . . Some loose ends, literally Barbs and Backlashes 5 Things you can live without Barbs and Backlashes Daryl […]

Pingback by Question Sprng Pike - Nebraska Fish and Game Association

[…] May I point out that tangling in discarded fishing line likely affects more water birds than lead ingestion?  Again that is probably not enough of a problem to impact bird populations, but recycle that old fishing line and do not even think about leaving a wad of it on the shoreline! http://www.nefga.org/forum/showthread.php?19842-The-NEFGA-Fishing-Line-Recycling-Program-INFO!! , https://barbsandbacklashes.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/some-loose-ends-literally/ […]

Pingback by Lead ban? « Barbs and Backlashes




Leave a Reply

