Barbs and Backlashes


Gone Fishing by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
September 2, 2009, 12:01 pm
Filed under: Fishing

By the time you are reading this, I will likely be on a beautiful trout stream somewhere in Montana.

Hold the presses!  Many of you know that all you have to do to “push my button” is say there is no good fishing in Nebraska.  And now I am fishing in Montana?  That is an outrage!

“Not so fast my friend”–Lee Corso

I love to fish and like most anglers I have a list several pages long of waters I would like to fish.  Yes, many of them are in Nebraska, but there are plenty of out-of-state waters where I would like to “wet a line”.  A few years ago my sister and her family moved to Montana.  One of my nephews is a fishing fool (wonder who he got that from?), and honestly we have not made it out there enough to visit them and do some fishing.  So, we are taking a some time at the end of this summer to go out and visit, see some sights, spend time with family and of course, GO FISH!  I can hardly wait.

Do not worry, as soon as we get home I will be back on the water somewhere in Nebraska and you can count on me continuing to champion the fishing opportunities we have in our great state.  If you want, you can see some examples of that here, http://www.nefga.org/forum/album.php?albumid=244 .  But you can also expect to see a few pictures from Montana when I get home.

Beside getting to experience some great fishing, I love fishing new waters, even “out-of-state” waters.  There are a variety of reasons for that; for one I never get tired of the variety fishing provides.  I love the ever-changing challenge of figuring out what the fish are doing and how to catch them.  If I ever get stuck in a “rut” fishing for one species or fishing one body of water, it is simple to change things up and pursue another species on another body of water.  And you know what?  The variety and trying different things will make anyone a better angler.  Versatility is a key to fishing success.  In the next couple of weeks my family and I will head out west and we will fish some new waters and learn some new things.  Many times new things that are learned can be applied to other fishing situations on other waters.  So, standby, I will be back soon, there will be stories to be told, pictures to be shared and new ideas to discuss.

For my fly-fishing buddies, yes, the fly-rod is going with me!  My nephew is one of those purist types and maybe he can teach me a thing or twenty!

My brother-in-law with a nice Bighorn brown.  That is what I'm after!

My brother-in-law with a nice Bighorn brown. That is what I'm after!

One of my Montana nephews with a rainbow.  I think he has been watching too many Jimmy Houston shows.

One of my Montana nephews with a rainbow. I think he has been watching too many Jimmy Houston shows.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Have a safe trip Daryl. Can hardly wait to see the pictures.

Comment by Bob C. (the "glove guy"




Leave a Reply

