Barbs and Backlashes


Happy Father’s Day by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
June 21, 2009, 8:00 am
Filed under: Fishing

I will probably be in trouble, because I did not post anything to pay tribute to Mom on Mother’s Day.  Sorry.  But today is Father’s Day and I was just thinking of all the time I have spent fishing with my Dad and Granddads.  If you forgot to get your dad or granddad something for Father’s Day, well I can think of nothing better than taking him, maybe them, fishing!

Dad with an 9-inch+ redear caught this spring in Nebraska.

Dad with an 9-inch+ redear caught this spring in Nebraska.

Grandpa Bauer with some nice catfish and a big walleye taken in Nebraska, maybe Lake McConaughy in its early days?

Grandpa Bauer with some nice catfish and a big walleye taken in Nebraska, maybe Lake McConaughy in its early days?

Gramps Roth with some Snake River trout.

Gramps Roth with some Snake River trout.

Now you know why I am the way I am (wink).

Thanks Dad.

Gramps and Grandpa, I miss fishing with you guys, think of you often.

I will always be a fisherman . . .

It’s not something I do, it is who I am . . .

Fishing is not an escape . . .

It is where I belong, where I am supposed to be . . .

It is not a place, but a lifelong journey . . .

It is a passage my father showed me, and that I will show others . . .

When you understand all of this, you will know me, and we will fish together

FISHERMAN’S AFFIRMATION

Author unknown

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] | Tags: family I posted some pictures of my grandfathers and dad for Father’s Day last year, https://barbsandbacklashes.wordpress.com/2009/06/21/happy-fathers-day/; refer back to that if you want to see some photos of them.  I really do not have much more to […]

Pingback by Happy Father’s Day! « Barbs and Backlashes




Leave a Reply

