Barbs and Backlashes


Where I Have Been by Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
April 15, 2009, 9:48 am
Filed under: Fishing, Hunting | Tags: ,

I was out in the North Platte area last weekend. Between a 50th wedding anniversary for my wife’s folks (congratulations!), Easter family activities, and lousy weather, I did not get to spend as much time on the water out there as I would have liked. But my son managed to scratch one nice bass from an interstate lake Friday afternoon while the snow was melting, again. A few weeks ago I mentioned neutrally-buoyant crankbaits for bass in cold water; that was a good tip (wink, wink). I checked out a spot on the canal one evening; took a water temperature and did not believe my thermometer when it came back saying 39 degrees F! I just as well be ice-fishing in 39 degree water!

Anyway, given the warmer weather in the forecast things should just get better. I have heard some hot channel cat reports from McConaughy and of course folks are still catching some spawning walleyes from dam faces across the state. Warm the water up in the afternoon and some big bass or crappies are a definite possibility too.

I have seen lots of strutting turkeys in the past few days. We are rolling into one of those periods where there is just so much to do outdoors and so little time! I need to work about two days a week right now and spend the rest of the time in the field or on the water!

GO FISH!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

